My short story West Gate, which was first published in January 2013 in Allegory Magazine, has been recorded in audio for the horror podcast Pseudopod. You can listen to it for free here, and can also download it onto your iPod or Samsung or whatever the kids are doing these days.

I think West Gate is one of the better stories I’ve written, along with one called What Manner of Creature. I wrote them both way back in early 2012, but the latter took longer to find a home, and is coming out shortly in Postscripts to Darkness. So it’s nice to see that others like it too. I’m not particularly knowledgeable when it comes to audio fiction but I think the reader (writer and poet Ron Jon) does a sterling job bringing the story to life, and it was a nice touch by Pseudopod to ensure an Australian story was read by an Australian. I was actually going to compliment Ron on doing a very convincing Australian accent for the characters (since it’s a hard accent for foreigners to imitate well) before realising he is in fact Australian, and that upon listening a second time his narrating voice is also clearly Australian, even though I thought it was Received Pronunciation the first time around. Clearly I’ve been away from home for too long. Or possibly not long enough.

Extra fun story: I’m flat broke at the moment and was delighted when I realised this had gone live because I assumed I’d be getting a nice injection to my PayPal account. Then I realised the Pseudopod staff are good eggs, and actually paid me as soon as the contract was signed, which was about six months ago. Damn Pseudopod for being good eggs!

