13. Road Story by Julienne van Loon (2005) 151 p.

bogans ahoy

Meh. This novella was on my reading list for Creative Writing, since all my tutors have a habit of assigning the class their own books (not that I wouldn’t, in their position). Road Story follows the tale of Diana Kooper, who flees from the scene of a car accident in Sydney, starting a new life at a truck stop in rural New South Wales.

It’s not a bad book. It’s just really not my kind of fiction. It also plunges one headfirst into the ocker culture of Australia; what one might call the “true” culture of Australia, the beer-swilling “yair mate” stereotype most foreigners picture call to mind after Steve Irwin and Crocodile Dundee. While van Loon captures that environment very well, it’s a culture that I utterly loathe, and don’t particularly want to read about.

Books: 13/50
Pages: 4131

